WORDPRESSure. :)

 

I live in CWL dormitory, which is located in Ma. Orosa Street. It is a dormitory where there is no available internet connection, not even WiFi. For more than three years, I survived without having internet. Unlike my classmates who are online 24/7, when the clock strikes 10:30pm, no more internet for me.  It was okay then because I can rent a personal computer in Pedro Gil or in Taft Avenue to do paperworks or research. But with this OrCom major that I have this semester, I think I’ll be needing a plug-and-play device for internet connection.

 

My classmates won’t believe me whenever I tell them that I don’t regularly check my Friendster, Multiply or Y!Mail. But it is true. I am not that attached/dependent on the internet. Not yet.

 

When Sir Barry explained the requirements for OrCom 152 (Communication Trends and Styles), my initial reaction was.. uh-oh. It took me a few seconds to let the information sink in. It’s like having an Audio Visual Comm class with real OrCom application. Not that Sir Chong’s class didn’t require OrCom application. J But with this subject, we are REQUIRED to have a blog, to comment, and to make other online stuff related to OrCom. Exciting. Yes. Very. Whew.

 

This is probably the coolest major subject that I’ve had in my whole OrCom experience. 🙂

 

I think the major issue that many of us will have in this subject is the mandatory blogging. 🙂 Based on the comments that I’ve read on Sir Barry’s page, a lot from us are first timers. I blog. But not in the most professional way. I started blogging when I was in third year high school. I blog about my personal life and it is still private then. Now, I can no longer recall my user name and password of my first blog account. Then I started publishing public blogs in college.  It has been a long time since I updated my blog. I have my draft posts which are not yet published. With the requirements that we have with this subject, I think my blogging skills will be brought back to life. It’s time for us to do some serious blogging, podcasting, commenting, etc.  Scary but thrilling!

 

Do I have to be techie-savvy now? 🙂

 

 

Today, is the death of Lupita. (Barrientos, 2009)

May you rest in peace.

About camillebinuya

Hi. I'm Camille. Nothing special with this blog. It's just my personal dump site for my thoughtless ideas. Reading my blog is the last thing you might want to do online.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WORDPRESSure. :)

  1. ORCOMments says:

    scary! especially the thought that our reflection papers are out for the world to see 😛

  2. mydigitalcommpass says:

    Agree. That’s why we have to be more careful on our posts (easy for me to say). 🙂

  3. jam salvacion says:

    “I think the major issue that many of us will have in this subject is the mandatory blogging. ”

    BOOM!! haha. Goodluck to us. I think we have no choice but to enjoy this mandatory blogging and make the most out of it. 😀

  4. barrycade says:

    sad to know that your dormitory is ‘disconnected’ from the world starting 10:30 pm 🙂 i’m sure you will find a way to still get connected and accomplish the class requirements without breaking dorm rules.

    here’s hoping that you see too can see the benefit of this requirement beyond being just a class requirement. seeing that isn’t easy, but the challenge for the OrCom student lies in searching for that.

  5. thisiscielo says:

    “My classmates won’t believe me whenever I tell them that I don’t regularly check my Friendster, Multiply or Y!Mail. But it is true. I am not that attached/dependent on the internet. Not yet.”

    I kinda share the same sentiment. I’m not that attached with the internet yet. I’m still strengthening my connection.

    I don’t think we have to be techie-savvy or be like lola techie… I think we just have to be open and give it [internet] the time of day. 🙂

  6. mydigitalcommpass says:

    HAHA! saw that advertisement too. Buti pa si Lola Techie noh? 🙂

    Agree with what you said. We really need to give it the time of day. Which is what i lack. Haha. My connection would only work if it’s around 3 or 4am, so goodluck. Haha. 🙂

Leave a comment